The Association for Strengthening Agricultural Research in Eastern and Central Africa (ASARECA) is a non-profit Intergovernmental Organization of the National Agricultural Research Systems (NARS) of 14 countries: Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, and Republic of the Congo, Rwanda, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda.

The member countries created ASARECA to support their work by performing higher level convening, coordination, facilitative, partnership brokerage, communication and catalytic role to deliver targeted high priority inclusive and sustainable agricultural transformation and development outcomes and impact in the Eastern and Central Africa (ECA).

Since inception in 1994, ASARECA has mobilized over USD 251 million and invested it in the National Agricultural Research and Extension Systems (NARES) in ECA to undertake joint regionally coordinated projects. Through these projects, farmers have been availed noble Technologies, Innovations and Management Practices (TIMPs) such as improved crop and livestock varieties; integrated soil fertility and water management; agronomic packages; storage; value addition innovations and marketing initiatives. As a result, over 869,000 rural farming households have benefited from the TIMPs hence impacting over 57 million individuals directly and over 63 million people indirectly.

The delivery of these stellar achievements is made possible through well-coordinated collaborative efforts involving researchers in the NARES, and a wide range of global, regional and national stakeholders ranging from Development partners at the global level to farmers at the lowest level.